A lot has happened since me and Vicky last complained about the snow issue. I'll do this in chronological order for efficiency.
Tuesday
On Tuesday, as Vicky mentioned, we had a "Snow Day". Basically, we had around a foot (30.48cm) of snow overnight, which isn't acceptable! Naturally, it wasn't as simple as, "Woo, day off school." Mr Bowes felt the need to postpone school for an hour first, just to test our dedication to learning I assume. This was followed by a million Facebook stati, all of which said exactly the same thing and what everybody on facebook already knew: That school was indeed closed until 10AM. Then school was cancelled altogether a few minutes later (two million stati) and we were all issued on to Skype by Chris, who wanted to plan what we were doing with our Snow Day. Because obviously you can't just stay inside on a day like that. No, it's practically mandatory that you trek through the shin high snow to a hill, which you proceed to slide down uncontrollably. Although Danny (very sensibly) stayed at the top, watching the commotion at a safe distance and drinking from his thermos. His many pairs of gloves also came in handy.
So, on my way to said hill I had a few travel problems. The first being the fact that I wasn't going to walk for over an hour to get to Vicky's in the snow. The second being that the buses weren't cooperating with me and EVERYBODY ELSE IN SHEFFIELD. And the final being that I was stranded in Broomhill for half an hour until Vicky's mum came and saved me. Overall, the day was fun. We did the whole sledging thing. Walked for hours to buy Seabrook crisps for Chris, which we ended up not getting. Went to Timmy's, where I discovered a new love for Little Big Planet. Watched Chris eat a ridiculous number of scones and Vicky spill coffee down her (as always).
Eventually we left Timmy's to go down to another protest outside Nick Clegg's hole of hypocrisy and LIES. I wish I could say that this protest was as inspirational as the last one, but we were a bit late. The only sign of any protest being there were a stack of discarded Socialist newspapers, of which we took two, and a few footprints on the walls (from angry students, we assume, and not the playful infants at the nursery next door).
Matt, Vicky, Harriet and myself went back to Vicky's after this and warmed up in hers for a while. By now the snow had deepened considerably and it had become dark, so Matt and Harriet strolled back to their 10 minute away houses (not fair) and I was told to stay at Vicky's or risk the wrath of my dad's worry. That was fine though. We played The London Game (an amazing board game that EVERYONE SHOULD PLAY) and stayed up until past midnight discussing our position in life.
Wednesday
Obviously, school was off again. I decided not to linger at Vicky's in fear of being stranded there once again. We had fun on skype for a couple of hours; everyone's faces (by everyone I mean Ludlow) seem more amusing when they're in 2D. Me and Vicky ate cereal (rice krispies for me) and eventually got dressed. Then we walked down the road and said our goodbyes (</3) because Vicky was going to Chris' and I was (finally) going home!
I spent the rest of the day watching series one of True Blood again, snuggled under a blanket. It was brilliant.
Thursday (Today)
Despite the fact that the snow was almost knee deep on our school field, Mr Bowes decided that today would be an appropriate day to return to school. He was wrong, of course. We arrived at 10AM, an hour later than normal, only to be told to run along to the canteen. Fortunately, us sixth formers had sole usage of the mezzanine area, so we didn't have to mix with less superior children. We waited around for a while, Mr Wright making sure that everything was ticketyboo, until Mr Bowes showed his face. He told us that there weren't enough teachers. He told us that there were hardly any students. He told us that classes would mix and school would run as normal. There was a cruel laugh that echoed around the canteen as he sent the Y8s to maths. Then a sigh of resignation as he sent the sixth formers to IT, where we all knew that learning would not take place. Let's face it, learning doesn't take place in IT on a normal day.
After that I strolled off to English Language where I was one of five dedicated Englishers. THAT'S RIGHT. There were FIVE of us. Then we went to the canteen, ready to warm ourselves with a lovely home (school) cooked meal. Alas, like the rest of the day, that was a complete waste of time. As it happens, they had no food. I mean, they had week old "savoury cheese" sandwiches, variety of suspicious looking soups and a hell of a lot of beans on toast. They were actually trying to starve the only people who cared enough to trek through the snow to learn! Eventually we bought some bread rolls and little pots of cheese and constructed our very own sandwiches.
Thankfully, we were allowed to leave after 4th. But, overall, it was a very pointless day! I think we'll all look forward to the same shenanigans tomorrow. LOL jk.
Jasm x
No comments:
Post a Comment